Six-on-Saturday 04-09-2021

Our granddaughter has started at her new school ready to do her A levels. I helped sewing on labels last week……….between us, my daughter and I sewed on over 140. 😱

Meanwhile, our daughter is coming back to stay next week, so busy again.

In the garden, I have gathered raspberries, runner beans, a couple of courgettes, Swiss Chard, spinach, tomatoes and two dead voles……….nothing to do with πŸˆβ€β¬›? Here are my Six-on-Saturday.

1)

Let’s start with a rose, for a change.

2)

I was sure that the dahlia planted here last year was a soft cream colour. Obviously not.

3)

I planted these two blue shrubs a couple of years ago. They do look nice when they flower but during most of the spring/summer, they are just big lumps of green in the left hand border. I may try moving one to the right hand side in place of some hollyhocks.

4)

This group of Fred’s amaranthus are doing well. I planted some in singles but prefer them like this.

5)

The white perennial sweet pea is much later than the pink on the other side of the garden. It’s a bit straggly but there are plenty of flowers to come.

6)

I know, what’s a Morning Glory doing in the greenhouse among the tomatoes? I can’t pull up this beautiful plant even when it’s in the wrong place.

I’m going to clear the weeds from the drive and patio thus weekend. Any ideas how to stop them coming up between the blocks in the first place? It makes such a difference to the look of the garden, it is worth doing but very time consuming, even with my vicious patio brush.

Have a good weekend in your garden. πŸ‘©β€πŸŒΎπŸ¦‹πŸŒΉπŸ…πŸŒΊ πŸˆβ€β¬›

12 thoughts on “Six-on-Saturday 04-09-2021

  1. Your caryopteris look good! ( I love the variegated one…) This is not my case … Mine grows poorly this year despite the last 3 beautiful years of flowering. The bad and weird weather we had in the spring maybe

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 😎cool garden πŸ™‚ I planted β€œNepeta Cataria” in a corner of my bed two years ago and it is inundating my garden ❗️ My 2 kitty cats sure β™₯️ ‘cat nip’ though 😸

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad others have identified the variegated shrub, it is lovely, as is your rose. I don’t envy you the patio scrubbing. I only wish someone could prevent weeds and grass growing in my gravel parking area, a losing battle!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment