Six-on-Saturday 23-10-2021

Didn’t he do well?! I’m glad Mr Propagator’s recovering but already looking forward to new challenges. πŸ€”πŸƒβ€β™‚οΈπŸ™„

I made a soup with the Jumbo Pink Banana Squashes I showed last week and it was very pleasant but not amazing. I don’t think I’ll bother next year. Anyway on to this week’s Six-on-Saturday.

1)

The berries on the euonymous in the front garden are beginning to turn pink but will be a much brighter colour eventually.

2)

This is a case of what isn’t in the picture? Yes, I have taken in the garden umbrella so it must be late autumn now. ☹

3)

My one and only dahlia plant’s blooms are too heavy for their stalks but are flowering on none the less.

4)

Back to the front garden where the crabapple tree is earning its keep. Some of the fruit is falling off but I’m not going to make jelly this year since the first couple that I cut open have what looks like bruised flesh inside.

5)

I know that I have shown the Nerine before but I also know that the first frost will wreck it …….. maybe soon?

6)

I suppose your milkman delivers milk? Mine delivers plants too. I will put them in the troughs this week.

Well, that’s it again. We are looking forward to seeing Mr snd Mrs Propagator and their #4 child tomorrow. Not the standard Sunday lunch since one is a vegan. So lentil bolognese and standard bolognese followed by Summer Pudding or Vegan Apple Crumble. All usually quite tasty.

Have a good weekend in your garden. πŸ‘©β€πŸŒΎπŸŒΊπŸ¦‹πŸ…πŸŒΉ

10 thoughts on “Six-on-Saturday 23-10-2021

  1. I’m curious of your summer pudding?!…πŸ˜‹ ( and all other things look tasty too. Have a good day with family tomorrow.)
    You still have pretty colours with these dahlias cactus and this euonymus with variegated leaves. And these apples will be perfect for a future apple crumble, right ?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For Summer Pudding, gently stew about 500gm of any mixture of blackcurrants, raspberries, blackberries, redcurrants, strawberries with 125gm sugar and about 2 tablespoons of water until the fruit is soft. Line a pudding basin with 4 or 5 thin slices of bread (white is probably best). Pour the stewed fruit into the lined basin and press another slice on top. Put a weight on top and leave overnight in a fridge. Serve with cream, yoghurt or ice cream. πŸ˜‹

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So many apples on your crabapple tree, I bet the birds will enjoy them. Umbrella in, violas delivered, definitely a new season. Enjoy the lunch, I like the sound of both vegan options even though I’m basically a flexitarian.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have a euonymous but I’m sure it doesn’t have berries – I wonder if like other plants there is a male and female variety? I’m sure the birds will appreciate you leaving the crab apples to them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment