Six-on-Saturday 03-04-2021

Rather a crazy week weatherwise. Shorts and t-shirts at the start, thick trousers and woolly jumpers now. I have put the covers back on the bay trees and brought in the courgette and squash seeds to keep them warm. Just been for a walk and the magnolias, cherry blossom, blackthorn and, of course, forsythia are looking magnificent. The daffodils here are on their way out as suddenly as they started.

Meanwhile,GGHI and I had our second jabs this week, lucky us.

Anyway, here are this week’s Six-on-Saturday.

1)

A pretty tub of violas I was given for Mother’s day last month.

2)

This is such a nice change from the yellow daffodils. The first photo is behind the dustbin where it isn’t supposed to be and the second, not as big a plant, is where it is supposed to be.

3)

I know I said the daffodils were over, but a few of the more unusual ones are a little behind.

4)

The persicaria is showing through ready for the next frost.🌬 Last year it bounced back and put on a good show eventually.

5)

I thought these were Christmas cacti. 🤔

6)

Photo 1: The jackmanii has suddenly gone berserk,

Photo 2: A present from my son and daughter-in-law.

Photo 3: Was I complaining about my £1.69 clematis recently? Surely not. (I had weeded this area and picked up the stones recently, by the way.)

That’s it…..well, almost.

The first tulip! I don’t recognise it and I don’t remember putting it there. Maybe whoever put the hyacinths in the front garden did it.

….a mystery. 🤔

Have a good weekend in your garden.

12 thoughts on “Six-on-Saturday 03-04-2021

  1. Clematis are doing really well, certainly considering the crazy weather. To be honest all the plants must be very confused at the moment, or perhaps they sensibly take it all in their stride. Love those violas, very pretty in their pot. Happy Easter Granny, hope you will get to see the family at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. £ 1.69!… It’s really cheap and a good deal. You can enjoy these pretty clematis flowers soon. I noticed this morning too that the first persicaria leaves are starting to appear like yours.
    Happy Easter !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Those violas are such a lovely colour. Mine aren’t doing so well this year. And the clematis are looking good. I have just bought three new ones, but busy hardening them off before planting. I also need to remove some Japanese anemones to make space for them AND rig up some wires for them to clamber on! Enjoy the rest of your Easter weekend. Our 2nd jabs won’t be until mid-May so we are keeping our distance and mainly staying close to home.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment