Six-on-Saturday 08-02-2020

I don’t like this Sunday’s forecast, let’s hope it isn’t as bad as predicted. There’s still not a lot happening in the garden, although I haven’t been doing much since we were away for a few days in supposedly wet, windy and wild West Wales. We had a lovely time with no proper rain and plenty of sunshine.

Mostly buds this week.

1)

Yet again that orchid is about to flower. I ignore it when it stops flowering, then bring it out when the buds appear. (Notice the coaster underneath made by one of my daughters a LONG time ago, from several clothes pegs.)

2)

The lavender hedge in the front garden has dozens of daffodils in amongst the plants. Every year there are masses of buds but only about 50% actually open.

3)

The miniature kiwi tree has many healthy buds……promising, but last year they didn’t come to much although there was lots of blossom. I will try to protect it this year.

4)

There are plenty of buds on the clematis montana but although it appears that there is a lot of dead wood, most of the healthy growth stems from it.

5)

The Cerinthe Major is already showing a bit of colour – I hope it survives any more frosts…….so far so good.

6)

Buds AND leaves on the rhubarb, plus the rampant forget-me-nots.

Most of the photos show how much needs to be done in the garden, just tidying.

Time we finished with a look at the wonderful, compost container.

Notice the newly re-handled fork. I spent some time wondering how to put the new handle on and remove the broken bits of the old one, so I asked #1 son how to do it and Hey-Presto, there it was….done! It’s a nice, light fork so ideal for rotating the heap.

That’s it. Have a good weekend, I think I will spend Sunday reading the other Sixes-on-Saturday.

9 thoughts on “Six-on-Saturday 08-02-2020

  1. my miniature kiwi is starting too to have small visible buds. I had to protect them Wednesday with a fleece (last year I lost half because of the morning frost) … I won’t be fooled twice.
    My rhubarb is still hidden and its leaves will probably fly away on Sunday and Monday. I think we need to prepare for a strong storm …

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment