Six-on-Saturday 26-01-2019

I rushed out yesterday while the sun was shining to grab a few photos. Mostly shoots and buds but I am anticipating great things soon! There are so many shoots showing through but they are growing very slowly. The broad bean and sweet pea seeds are not showing any signs of germination in the greenhouse, so I have bought some more of each and will try again! To be fair, the other seeds are a few years old.

Without further ado, here are my Six-on-Saturday for this week.

1)

I am getting a bit impatient waiting for the bathroom plant cuttings to show signs of life and the little shelf looks so bare, so I went to the local garden centre to find a replacement. I was wanting an upright, foliage plant but on the bargain shelf, this arrangement was reduced from £12.99 to £5.99 so it would have been rude not to, wouldn’t it……….? The middle plant should grow taller and may remain there once the others finish, or are moved to their own pots.

2)

Here are the shoots :- peonies, rhubarb and then the daffodils under the pruned lavender hedge. I think I mentioned that these daffodils have multiplied dramatically over the last few years. (Yes, plenty of tidying up to do around the shoots!)

3))

I bought “half a pint” of broad beans yesterday. I had forgotten that that was how they are measured! I will plant some of these this weekend in the greenhouse and see how they get on!

4)

Those crocuses look much prettier this week, even with all of the other plants and weeds muscling in!

5)

I planted a whole lot of very old bulbs that I found in the garage not expecting much but it looks as though an anemone has come alive!! I shall watch it carefully!

6)

The cat surveying his kingdom! To his right is the pot of fragrant, indoor narcissi which I planted in early November, I think. They showed green shoots quite quickly but have not progressed that much although they look healthy enough.

That’s it again. We are hoping for a few days away sometime soon but the weather forecast for Cornwall is pretty dismal progressing to awful! Never mind, we will take our souwesters and wellies plus a few good books and enjoy the food! Have a good weekend.

25 thoughts on “Six-on-Saturday 26-01-2019

    1. Haggis is a mixture of oatmeal, spices and offal which is a popular dish in Scotland. There are many silly haggis jokes going around, especially at this time of year! Neeps again is a Scottish name for turnips or, as we refer to them in England, swedes.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Traditionally eaten on the 25th January, the anniversary of birth of Robert Burns.

        Fair fa’ your honest, sonsie face,
        Great Chieftain o’ the Puddin-race!
        Aboon them a’ ye tak your place,
        Painch, tripe, or thairm:
        Weel are ye wordy of a grace
        As lang ‘s my arm.

        Roughly translated as
        ‘Very tasty’.

        Like

      2. Glad to hear another fan of Haggis! We are having Haggis lasagne for tea tonight. I have just mentioned pizza topping to Granny’sGardenHimIndoors and we will probably try that next time. (If you are interested, all you need for Haggis lasagne is …. half a Haggis (McSween’s the best), a tin of tomatoes, no-cook lasagne sheets and plenty of plain, white sauce. Layer these up, finishing with white sauce, then put plenty of grated cheese on top. Bake @ 180° until nicely browned!)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Those crocuses look beautiful. I’ve spotted a few yellow and cream ones in our garden but must admit to favouring the purple ones. Ours seem to be flopping over as soon as the flowers open. I’m wondering if I didn’t plant them deep enough. Your daffs look like they’ll be a show.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually, in England, swedes are the rather tough, pale orange coloured, large, round root vegetables and turnips are smaller, white, round root vegetables. In Scotland, swedes are called “neeps” and turnips are called turnips! I have that on good authority because Granny’sGardenHimIndoors is from Scotland! I hope that is clear now!?

      Like

  2. I have just looked at your Six-on-Saturday but can’t find where to comment or even “like”. Anyway, those hellibores are a beautiful shade of purple – darker than mine. Looking forward to seeing the completed greenhouse.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good morning, Jim. We went to Cornwall (near St Austell ) this time last year and were amazed at how much further advanced the camellias were than ours in Gloucestershire. I don’t remember whether we noticed the magnolias but will look this year. We had lovely, but cold weather last year so maybe it’s only fair that we get our share of the poorer weather. We will enjoy ourselves anyway.

      Like

  3. You have crocuses! Mine are still coming through, but then I think they usually flower in my garden during February. I planted loads of small bulbs in pots this year for the courtyard side of the house and it is very exciting to see them growing!! Enjoy Cornwall, the camellias are looking splendid at the moment. Yet to see any magnolias.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment