Six-on-Saturday 11-12-2021

No grandchildren this weekend but we are hoping to visit our son on Sunday, he moved house this week. They have a very large garden so I might sneak a few pictures from there in the summer months. 🀭 On to this week’s challenge……..finding 6 things in the garden.

1)

If you look closely, you will see some small leaf buds on the lilac tree. Plenty of last year’s beneath it.

2)

Last summer the Mexican Orange blossom was rather sorry for itself with not much blossom and patches of brown leaves. It’s certainly looking better now.

3)

The Swiss Chard is looking a bit chewed! I’m hoping that if I remove the most damaged of the leaves, more will come through and it will keep going a bit longer.

4)

We had a lovely, sunny day yesterday and most of the garden looked quite bright. The bay trees always look healthy anyway.

5)

The seed heads from the Apple of Peru look quite nice against the greenery of the penstemons and the dark sedums.

6)

I’m not sure whether this bud of the climbing, pink rose will open out, in fact, I’m sure it won’t πŸ™„, but it looked pretty against the blue sky.

That’s it again. I apologise to several of you who aren’t receiving my replies and comments, I have been writing them each week recently, but even though I follow Mr WordPress’s instructions, he’s not cooperating. So, Sel and Jim in particular, I will get my techno whizz-kid husband to have a go at sorting WordPress out!

Have a good weekend in your garden although the forecast is rather mixed. πŸ‘©β€πŸŒΎπŸŒΊπŸ¦‹πŸ…πŸŒΉπŸˆβ€β¬›β˜”

6 thoughts on “Six-on-Saturday 11-12-2021

  1. I reassure you, my Swiss Chards are pretty much like yours now because they have been nibbled by nasty slugs…
    Very nice shape of your Mexican orange tree, I cut mine in a ball shape after each flowering but leaving it like that is also a good solution

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know about the rose but I’d be happy to see a blue sky like that for a change. I had apple of Peru all over my allotment a couple of years ago, then it vanished. I rather like it as an ephemeral volunteer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t know anything about Apple of Peru until I showed it on a post a couple of years ago. I think it is also called Windflower, but I’m not sure. The seeds just fell into my hands when I was visiting a garden quite a while ago πŸ™„ and it has self-seeded ever since.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment