Six-on-Saturday 28-03-2020

A very sad week for the whole world. We are very lucky: retired, with a garden, in a fairly rural area. Those with youngsters in apartments must be finding this situation so difficult. I hope you are all keeping well.

Here is my Six-on-Saturday for this week.

1)

That Cerinthe Major always makes me smile. It’s in the wrong place and shouldn’t be frost hardy (at least, I don’t think it should) and isn’t “elegant” but is beautiful.

2)

The sander has arrived! When the weather isn’t as nice, I will try it out on the lids of the fruit cages and that old wheelbarrow needs rubbing down and staining.

3)

All the alliums are planted. These are the last few that I couldn’t find a space for in the garden. I was going to weed all the flowerbeds before I planted them out, but decided to just clear enough space for them since it may be June before I get rid of all the weeds!

4)

Broad beans in one of those fruit cages. I don’t think it will deter the black fly but the pigeons will be disappointed!

5)

That Β£1.80 clematis in the sweet pea obelisk. The sweet peas are rather disappointing ……

I will have to get/build another obelisk if the second sowing is more successful than the first! (That “poison” packet behind is blood, fish and bone meal, nothing sinister!)

6)

πŸŽ‰πŸŽŠπŸ€Έβ€β™€οΈ Happy 20th birthday to that incredible compost container! (Anyone who may not know, Mr Propagator made this for me shortly after we moved into our present house…..yes, he’s a star!) Those scruffy pieces of wood on top were a couple of nice planks that I have used as weights to hold down the plastic sheet that covers the composting materials ……they haven’t aged as well as the container itself!

That’s it again. Do have a good weekend although the weather is due to get very cold on Sunday.

Look after yourselves.

17 thoughts on “Six-on-Saturday 28-03-2020

  1. Your broad beans are beautiful under that cage. A little more ahead than mine which are still under a fleece ( it’s expected 3 more frosts next week … ) Very nice cerinth major flowers.
    Take care…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cerinthe major is a gorgeous plant but sadly doesn’t get through the winter here. I intended sowing seeds today but forgot to soak them overnight – so that job has been put back until Monday.

    The Β£1.80 Clematis looks good and healthy! Better than a couple of mine that I paid a lot more for.

    Clever you with all your DIY projects! I couldn’t tackle anything like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think I saved seed of Cerinthe and I may have thrown them out because I didn’t label them and had forgotten what they were. My broad beans are about the same as yours but still in their pots. I need to get them planted.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 20 years? That’s a mighty composter. Cerinthe has always attracted me by its photos, but when I grow it, am underwhelmed so haven’t grown it for years now. In your photo, handsome as ever. That’s one impressive sander. Mine pales in comparison. Does it use sandpaper discs? And sweet peas . . . mine’ve been all spindly, then provided nourishment for S&S. I’m on my 2nd planting as well. Did yours not germinate? O, & what a lovely price for a clematis! Hope it blooms this year.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, the sander uses the discs. I’m not sure whether I will keep it, it is a bit heavy . I will decide tomorrow. My second lot of sweet peas have only been in a week but since they are new seeds, they should be fine. I shall keep you posted about the clematis.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I managed to buy seeds of Cerinthe before the garden centre closed. I don’t usually buy seeds as most of mine fail to germinate, or damp off or get eaten when I put them outside to harden off! BUT I figured it was worth a try. Now should I sow them indoors (conservatory) or wait a little longer and direct sow? And sun or shade? You say yours is in the wrong place – why? My obelisk will be without sweet peas this year as I have had two years of disappointment. Not to worry, I also have a very cheap ASDA clematis which is steadily making its way up! I think it is a white one, but as it failed to flower last year, who knows πŸ˜† It is going to be a very strange spring / summer if we can’t buy any more plants / seeds.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The cerinthe is in the wrong place, as far as I am concerned, at the front of the border. It gets in the way every time I mow the lawn. Although it seeds itself down every year, it doesn’t like being transplanted to where I want it. I did grow the seeds originally in the greenhouse (so the conservatory would be fine) then I planted them halfway back in the border. My garden faces south and this seems to suit them – I haven’t tried them in the shade. Anyway, we shall see how the Asda and Morrisons clematis plants do on the sweet pea obelisks.πŸ€žπŸ˜ƒ

      Like

      1. Thank you for the info GG. I will give the seeds a go. I think your Morrisons clematis is ahead of mine, be interesting to see which of us posts the photos of the flowers first πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Some people find the cerinthe uninspiring and it is a bit gangly but there’s something about it that I like. Since yesterday, half a dozen of my sweet peas have appeared in their “tubes”. I need to buy/build an obelisk for them now. πŸ€”πŸ‘©β€πŸŒΎ

        Like

  6. My favourite clematis was a Β£1.80 Morrisons bargain. I grew it on in the greenhouse for a year (because I didn’t have anywhere to plant it!) and it’s been fantastic ever since. It’s called Polish Spirit. Hope yours gives you many years of pleasure too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment